1. Overview

The SNOMED CT Terminology Service Certification recognizes your knowledge of SNOMED CT terminology services and your competence in the use of SNOMED CT terminology services.

The TSC competencies represent:

  • The set of knowledge and skills that are considered necessary to achieve a basic level of terminology service competence
  • The minimum requirements needed to pass the Terminology Service Certification exam
  • The context in which the questions and tasks for the TSC exam have been developed.

The key competency categories are:

  1. SNOMED CT and Terminology services
  2. SNOMED CT Editions and versions
  3. The Logical design of SNOMED CT
  4. The SNOMED CT concept model
  5. Reference sets and value sets
  6. Query SNOMED CT content

Further details of the competencies belonging to each category are provided in the subsequent sections of this Ebook.

The competency levels are:

The level of competency is based on the Revised Bloom Taxonomy (6 levels)

  1. Remember – Retrieve relevant knowledge from long-term memory
  2. Understand – Determine the meaning of instructional messages, including oral, written, and graphic communication
  3. Apply – Carry out or use a procedure in a given situation
  4. Analyze – Break material into its constituent parts and detect how the parts relate to one another and to an overall structure or purpose
  5. Evaluate – Make judgments based on criteria and standards
  6. Create – Put elements together to form a novel, coherent whole or make an original product